top of page
  • Writer's pictureKAZIMER BERNOTA

Second Semester and Capstone Project

This year being my final semester of high school is really shocking to myself as I still feel the same as I did when I was a Freshmen. However this has not slowed me down as I still have much I am excited for this semester. The biggest example of this would be the senior trip to Japan. As I am in Japanese 3 this year, I have the opportunity to travel to Japan as a class during spring break. This really excites me as I have always been passionate about travel (despite never leaving the country) and I am thrilled to have the chance to do it with friends.


The challenges and obstacles we will be facing for the Capstone project will be to create an innovation that has not yet been created. Unfortunately, when brainstorming ideas we ran into a conundrum. We had thought of a new product design that would be unlike anything we had seen. When checking the web to make sure we were the first ones to come up with it we made a disappointing discovery. Our idea had been created without us ever knowing. It was a let down as it felt as if we had been robbed of an idea despite it being the other way around in a way.


The difference between products made for profit and products that are made to benefit others can be summed up as whether or not the product provides a service, or if it simply holds value for the consumer. Some examples of products made for profit would be jewelry, art, books, and pottery. These products have the benefit of not having direct competition as they are unique to other producers. However, the value is entirely held in the consumer, and if a public position as a society were to change, there would be a decrease in potential customers. Products made to benefit others are made to provide a service. Some examples of this would be kitchen appliances, toothpaste, and screwdrivers. The advantage of these products would be their consistently held value among the public, making them a safe choice for a business. The disadvantage would be the competitive nature of this market, and little room for innovation.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project Lead The Way in Review

As the year comes to a close, I am left to reflect on what I achieved throughout the school year. When specifically looking at PLTW, I believe that what I was most proud of would have to be my perseve

JPL Project and the Future

While I think I can speak for everyone in that not everything went according to plan in our projects. However despite this, there is still much to be happy with what are group was able to produce. For

bottom of page