top of page
  • Writer's pictureKAZIMER BERNOTA

Degrees and Famous People

Currently, I am relatively indecisive as to what I want to pursue for a degree in college. I have a lot of passions which makes it a tough decision. One of those that I find particularly interesting would be that of architecture. As for what draws me to this field I don't know, however I've always had a fascination with buildings and their designs. At a young age, preferring toys of of building blocks and play sets over trucks and vehicles, and whether it be through an evolution of these interests or direct result, finding enjoyment out of previewing and understanding different types of building styles and their functionalities. While less focused on the individual and rather more on the collective, a career path I would like to pursue would be becoming an urban planner. I have many gripes with how modern cities in the United States are implemented and would like to influence this area within the field to create better looking, and more livable developments and spaces.


Frank Lloyd:

Frank Lloyd (1867 - 1959) worked as an architect with a career spanning over 72 years. He attended the University of Wisconsin in Madison, working underneath a professor of civil engineering at the school. However he would leave the school before receiving a degree. Instead, he would move to Chicago and begin work with many different firms before collaborating with Alder & Sullivan, going on to work closely with them for six years and serve as a base point to eventually start his own business. Frank Lloyd did in a way, employee in an internship within the University of Wisconsin, however it is unclear how this influenced his credibility within his applications as it was left uncompleted. The five words that would best describe him would be innovative, eccentric, thoughtful, along with obsessive and compulsive. These words represent his most prominent characteristics as a ground-breaking designer, however also someone who was always focused on small details to extreme lengths. I chose to research them not only for how influential they were for all of modern architecture but also because I find that his designs stand the test of time and are all large achievements in their own right. What I really like about his career as a whole is just how much he was able to accomplish. In this time, he was able to design over 1000 buildings with many still existing today. Most surprisingly, he was able to achieve all of this without ever getting a degree in architecture or any degree at all.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project Lead The Way in Review

As the year comes to a close, I am left to reflect on what I achieved throughout the school year. When specifically looking at PLTW, I believe that what I was most proud of would have to be my perseve

Second Semester and Capstone Project

This year being my final semester of high school is really shocking to myself as I still feel the same as I did when I was a Freshmen. However this has not slowed me down as I still have much I am exc

JPL Project and the Future

While I think I can speak for everyone in that not everything went according to plan in our projects. However despite this, there is still much to be happy with what are group was able to produce. For

bottom of page